King Edward's School Home

An independent day school for boys aged 11 to 18

KES/KEHS Music Calendar 2017-18

Autumn term 2017

The Miss Margaret Davis Memorial Recital
Thursday 28 September, 1.10pm
Ruddock Hall. Admission free.
Alice Beardmore, violin; Eugene Toso, cello; Lauren Zhang, piano.

Instrumental Evening
Monday 2 October, 6pm
Ruddock Hall. Admission free.
An informal concert given by pianists from both schools.

Performers' Platform
Tuesday 10 October, 6.30pm
Ruddock Hall. Admission free.
A short concert of solo performances and chamber music given by advanced musicians from both schools.

Lunchtime Recital
Tuesday 2 November, 1.10pm
Ruddock Hall. Admission free.
Charlotte Chapman, oboe; Nathan Cornish, trombone; Arun Ramanathan, violin.

Instrumental Evening
Monday 6 November, 6pm
Ruddock Hall. Admission free.
An informal concert given by woodwind and brass players from both schools.

Recital at the Barber Institute
Friday 10 November, 1.10pm
Barber Institute of Fine Arts, University of Birmingham. Admission free.
Soloist: Daniel Yue, violin.
String quartet: Beth Zheng, violin; Melissa Yuan, violin; Melissa Yao, viola; Isabel Russell, cello.
Piano quintet: Philip Edwards, violin; Gabriel Wong, violin; Rosy Heneghan, viola; Eugene Toso, cello; Naomi Bazlov, piano.

Instrumental Evening
Monday 13 November, 6pm
Ruddock Hall. Admission free.
An informal concert given by string players from both schools. 

Performers' Platform
Tuesday 14 November, 6.30pm
Ruddock Hall. Admission free.
A short concert of solo performances and chamber music given by advanced musicians from both schools.

Lunchtime Recital
Thursday 16 November, 1.10pm
Ruddock Hall. Admission free.
Jacques Ibert Trio, Witold Lutosławski Chain 1, Jacques Ibert Divertissement.
Wind trio: Charlotte Chapman, oboe; Peter Murphy, clarinet; Rhea Suribhatla, bassoon.

Instrumental Evening
Monday 4 December, 6pm
Ruddock Hall. Admission free.
An informal concert given by guitar and drum kit players from both schools. 

KES Carol Service
Wednesday 6 December, 7.30pm
St Philip's Cathedral. All welcome.

Lunchtime Recital
Thursday 7 December, 1.10pm
Ruddock Hall. Admission free.
Piano trio: Gabriel Wong, violin; Eugene Toso, cello; Bryan Chang, piano.
KEHS Chamber Orchestra.

Christmas Concert 1
Sunday 10 December, 3.00pm
Ruddock Hall. £5.00 adults £2.50 conc. Tickets available from 13 November.
Performances by Choral Society, Wind Band, Training String Orchestra, Senior Swing Band, KEHS Chamber Choir and KES/KEHS Symphony Orchestra. 

Christmas Concert 2
Sunday 10 December, 7.30pm
Ruddock Hall. £5.00 adults £2.50 conc. Tickets available from 13 November.
Performances by KES Choir, Junior Swing Band, KEHS Chamber Choir, Concert Band and KES/KEHS Symphony Orchestra.

Christmas Concert 3
Monday 11 December, 7.30pm
Ruddock Hall. £5.00 adults £2.50 conc. Tickets available from 13 November.
Performances by Choral Society, Senior Swing Band, KEHS Lower School Choir, Concert Band, Concert Orchestra and KES/KEHS Symphony Orchestra. 

KEHS Carol Service for Parents and Old Edwardians
Thursday 14 December, 7pm
Edgbaston Old Church. All welcome.

Spring term 2018

Lunchtime Recital
Thursday 11 January, 1.10pm
Ruddock Hall. Admission free.
Charlotte Howdle, violin; Jessica Tedd, violin; Philip Edwards and Naomi Bazlov, violin and piano.

Instrumental Evening
Monday 29 January, 6pm
Ruddock Hall. Admission free.
An informal concert given by pianists and singers from both schools.

Lunchtime Recital
Thursday 1 February, 1.10pm
Ruddock Hall. Admission free.
Renee Chang, violin; Peter Murphy, clarinet; Beth Zheng, violin.

Lunchtime Recital
Thursday 8 February, 1.10pm
Ruddock Hall. Admission free.
Peter Raven, euphonium; Rhea Suribhatla, bassoon.
Piano trio: Renne Chang, violin; Enoch Cheung, cello; Lauren Zhang, piano.

Instrumental Evening
Monday 12 February, 6pm
Ruddock Hall. Admission free.
An informal concert given by string players from both schools.

Performers' Platform
Tuesday 13 February, 6.30pm
Ruddock Hall. Admission free.
A short concert of solo performances and chamber music given by advanced musicians from both schools.

Instrumental Evening
Monday 26 February, 6pm
Ruddock Hall. Admission free.
An informal concert given by woodwind and brass players from both schools.

Lunchtime Recital
Thursday 1 March, 1.10pm
Ruddock Hall. Admission free.
Naomi Bazlov, piano; Isabel Russell, cello; Melissa Yao, violin.

Instrumental Evening
Monday 5 March, 6pm
Ruddock Hall. Admission free.
An informal concert given by pianists and singers from both schools.

Choral & Orchestral Concert 1
Sunday 11 March, 3pm
Ruddock Hall. £5.00 adults £2.50 conc. Tickets available from 13 February.
Stravinsky Scherzo à la russe, Mendelssohn Violin Concerto op.64 and Fauré Requiem.
Performances by KES/KEHS Symphony Orchestra, Daniel Yue, violin, and Choral Society. 

Choral & Orchestral Concert 2
Monday 12 March, 7.30pm
Ruddock Hall. £5.00 adults £2.50 conc. Tickets available from 13 February.
Stravinsky Scherzo à la russe and Shostakovich Symphony no.5, op.47.
Performance by KES/KEHS Symphony Orchestra. 

Instrumental Evening
Monday 26 March, 6pm
Ruddock Hall. Admission free.
An informal concert given by guitar and drum kit players from both schools.

Summer term 2018

Summer Concert
Monday 23 April, 7pm
Symphony Hall. £10.00 adults £5.00 conc. Tickets available from 13 February.
Performances by choirs and orchestras from both schools. 

Lunchtime Recital
Thursday 3 May, 1.10pm
Ruddock Hall. Admission free.
Jieyi Li, flute; Rosy Heneghan, voice; Ivy Lau, violin; Mark Li, cello.

Performers' Platform
Tuesday 12 June, 6.30pm
Ruddock Hall. Admission free.
A short concert of solo performances and chamber music given by advanced musicians from both schools.

Lunchtime Recital
Thursday 21 June, 1.10pm
Ruddock Hall. Admission free.
Enoch Cheung, violin; Gabriel Wong, violin; Bryan Chang, piano.

Jazz Evening
Sunday 24 June, 4.30pm
Ruddock Hall. £5.00 adults £2.50 conc. Tickets available from 28 May.
The Senior Swing Band hosts another summer's evening of jazz, featuring soloists from both schools and professional guest musicians. 

Syndicate Concert
Saturday 30 June
Ruddock Hall.

 

Tickets will be available from www.ruddockpac.co.uk or by calling the box office on 0121 472 9585 between 1pm and 3pm Monday-Friday. All tickets will be available one week earlier than stated for parents and staff.